Vendors
signup / login

Brides and Grooms
signup / login

Wichita Marriage License Information

New & Exciting In Wichita!
Everything for your
Dream Wedding
Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Monterey County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.

 

Requirements vary as each marriage license bureau in Pennsylvania have their own requirements. It is important that you verify all information with your Monterey marriage license office or Monterey county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Monterey County Marriage License Office

Monterey County Clerk
240 Church Street
Wichita, CA 93901
West Wing
Room 305
(831) 755- 5450
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays Observed by Monterey County
 

Call for Appointment:

It is recommended that you call the Monterey County or City Clerk's office to see if they suggest setting an appointment.

ID and Monterey County Residency Requirements:

Monterey County requires a picture id such as Drivers License or other valid identification. Some counties recommend bringing certified copies of your birth certificates.

You do not have to be a resident of Monterey County to apply for a marriage license there.

Information you need to know before you start filling out the marriage license application:

  • Where each of your parents were born (city and state)
  • The names of your parents including your motherís maiden name

Confidential License in Monterey County:

If you have lived together as a married couple, you can apply for a confidential license. This means there is no public record of your marriage.

Previous Marriages:

You must show proof of divorce, death or annulment. You need to bring a copy of your final divorce decree if you have divorced within the 90 days through past year (varies by county).

Monterey County Waiting Period:

There is no waiting period in Monterey County.

Fees:

It will cost you $45.00+ to get married in Monterey County. Some Pennsylvania counties charge $84+. The cost of receiving a marriage license varies from county to county and some Pennsylvania counties will only accept cash ... so call to verify what the county charges for a marriage license and don't leave home without cash to pay for the license!

Other Tests:

Monterey County doesn't require blood tests.

Under 18:

If either the bride or groom is under 18, at least one of the minorís parents, or legal guardian, must appear with the couple. Certified copies of birth certificates are required. The couple must also schedule an appointment with a counselor and then appear before a Pennsylvania superior court judge.

Proxy Marriages:

Yes, proxy marriages are allowed in Monterey County but on a very limited basis. Only members of the armed forces who are stationed far away in wars or conflicts can apply for a proxy marriage. The Monterey County proxy marriage law allows military personnel to give their power of attorney for someone to stand in for them during their wedding ceremony.

Cousin Marriages:

Yes.

Common Law Marriages:

No.

Same Sex Marriages:

No.

  • Gay couples can still apply for a Domestic Partnership Certificate.

Miscellaneous:

License is valid for 90 days.

© 2007-2011. Online Weddings All Rights Reserved.